(772) 287-2883

In January of this year, the Stuart Sailfish Club celebrated their 75th anniversary with a cocktail party at the Geoffrey Smith Gallery in Port Salerno.

The formal celebration was held later at Flagler Place on March 18th and was sponsored by Stuart Magazine. Nearly 100 people attended. During the gala, Andy Kubiak was presented with the Ernie Lyons Lifetime Achievement Award for Extraordinary Dedication and Support. Dave Powell, vice president of the Stuart Sailfish Club said that Kubiak has volunteered there for the past 20 years. “He is always available to help us and he has been the club’s longest serving president at five years,” said Powell. The “Hobo” was an obvious pick to use as a model for Powell, especially after learning that Curt Whiticar was involved with the design and building of the boat.

Kevin Knoop, a friend of Powell’s, built the trophy. He has made over 70 models to date. “He wanted three months, we only had one. Kevin quickly got to work on his drafting board building the model to scale. He had parts like the props, rudders and shafts and calculated the length to match proportionally to the parts he had as well as the beam,” said Powell. The base was built by Brian Funk of Crown Trophies.

The Stuart Sailfish Club was established in 1941 by Ernie Lyons, Harry Dyer and R.L. “Buss” Bell. It is one of the largest sport fishing clubs in the United States. Shortly after the club was established, Curt Whiticar designed the iconic commemorative sailfish pin that was given to anglers after they released their catch. The clubs’ main focuses are conservation, education and comradery.

For more information, visit: www.stuartsailfishclub.com